Team Achievements & Individual Awards

7th Oct 2019

A very well attended Senior Presentation Evening took place on Sat 28th September in the Clubhouse. Chairman Alan Fletcher welcomed those attending & introduced Michael Richardson, newly appointed CEO, who presented  the awards. Compering with style & wit was Richard Brook.

The evening began with Jenny McDowell & Ty Buckley giving the Women's review celebrating SNCC as NWCL Division 1 Champions for 2019. Most Improved Player- Emma Walsingham, Player of the Year- Jenny McDowell, medals for everyone in the squad of 17. Richard Miller then took us on the U13 Girls journey to the Lady Taverners National T20 Cup final at Neston which resulted in a famous semi final win v Richmond but a defeat in the final to Exeter CC.  A wonderful journey encapsulated in a fabulous collage. Fittingly, the U13 Girls were awarded the Club salver for Outstanding Contribution.

Deservedly, Richard himself was then presented with Club Person of the Year for his team managing efforts. Matty Jennings described an Academy year before commending Most Improved Player- Angus Southern & Player of the Year - Alfie Clark. David Harbottle reflected that the 1864's had mixed experiences, availability had been challenging but deserving of the Most Improved Player was Trudy Johnson & Player of the Year, Owen Hollins. Stewart Davidson, team manager, master chef & scorer was sincerely thanked for his magnificent commitment.

Following lovely food courtesy of Sarah, Ru Fletcher described an excellent season for the 2nd X1 who won NEPL Division 2, (top Division run scorer Sam Dale, 548, & top wicket taker Richard Brook, 49) & the Banks Bowl, MOM Andy Doig. Most Improved Player went to Ryan Sidney-Wilmot & Player Of the Year to Sam Dale who received the Clive Goatman Salver from Clive. Medals for the squad 18.

Adam Cragg reflected on what might have been in a 1st X1 season that saw the team become runners up in the NEPL Premier Division but not progressing as far as was hoped in the national competitions. John Graham presented the 1st X1 Player of the Year, John Graham Cup, to John Tindale in Sean's absence. Sean was the second highest wicket taker in the Premier Division in 2019 with 43w.

A most convivial evening ended with Brooky sincerely thanking Craig & Liam for their tireless & most effective work on the ground given the prevailing weather, Bill & Susan for their outstanding catering & supporters, family & friends who had followed the teams' fortunes throughout.

The photographs did turn out & will be available shortly !!


Team Achievements.


  1st X1:        NEPL Premier Division runners up.

  2nd X1:       NEPL Div 2 Champions, Banks Bowl winners.

  Women:     NWCL Division 1 Champions.

  Outstanding Contribution: U13 Girls Lady Taverners T20 Cup National runners up.


Individual Awards.


Women's Most Improved Player:                                Emma Walsingham

Women's Player of the Year:                                        Jenny McDowell.

Club Person of the Year:                                                Richard Miller (Girls Team Manager)

Academy Most Improved Player:                                 Angus Southern.

Academy Player of the Year:                                         Alfie Clark.

1864 X1 Most Improved Player:                                   Trudy Johnson.

1864 Player of the Year:                                                 Owen Hollins.

2nd X1 Most Improved Player:                                     Ryan Sidney-Wilmot.

2nd X1 Player of the Year: Clive Goatman Salver:    Sam Dale.

1st X1 Player of the Year: John Graham Cup:            Sean Tindale.


Presentations made by Michael Richardson (newly appointed CEO, SNCC)

< Back to News