9th Jan 2023

SNCC are delighted to report that at the AGM of the West Tyne League on 9th December 2022, Stewart Davidson was unanimously elected as a Vice President in recognition of his services to the WTL over 13 years as SNCC Team Manager, scorer & more recently 'master chef' for home teas & his work on the Management Committee for the last 6 of them.

The 1864's mean something special to Stewart. He believes fervently that we have to grow our own players & giving juniors the chance to play in senior cricket in the WTL is pivotal to that desire & the Club's future.

It all started in 2009 when, based at Matfen & with various Captains,  SNCC made a triumphant entrance, winning both Division 2, by one point from Prudhoe, Allan Davidson being 3rd in the Division bowling figures (O-102.4 M- 26, R- 215, W- 29) & the 2nd Division KO Cup v Prudhoe, Inti Fazal (Player of the Match), Richard Clifford best bowling in the Corbridge Challenge Cup, James Hutton 98* v Bellingham Riverdale highest score in the Jack Brewis Cup, in their inaugural season. Michael Harbottle was named SNCC Team Manager of the Year.

In 2010 the team, captained by Andrew Moon, found the going tough but managed 10th place. In 2011 it became tougher & even Greg Tomlinson's enthusiasm was insufficient to prevent relegation. Remarkably the team bounced back to win Division 2 in 2012 with Nick Brown nominated as All Rounder of the Year (361 runs & 29 wickets).

Sadly, the yoyo effect continued with relegation from Division 1 in 2013. Christened the 1864's in 2014, under the mercurial guidance of Ben Jones-Lee, a 7th position in Division 2 & the T20 Division 2 Cup win was achieved.

In 2015, a creditable 3rd in Division 2, James Moon (capt) 444 runs at 27.75, 10th in the averages, David Parker 26 wickets, Cam Skinner 21.

In 2016 Division 2 Champions again with Owen Hollins season's best bowling 8-22 v Humshaugh. Runs for Alan Fletcher, Richard Clifford, Ben Sidney-Wilmot & Will Fishley & wickets for Owen, Allan Davidson (8-29 v Wark) & Ru Fletcher.

This presaged the highest league placing to date of 3rd in Division 1 in 2017, under capt David Harbottle, with 13 wins. A highlight was seeing juniors Calum Fletcher & Nathan Gough putting on 62 for the 9th wicket v Wylam & then taking wickets, Calum 2-14 in 7o & Nathan 3-17 in 6.3o, to win the match.

2018 saw evergreen David Cragg come 4th in Division 1 end of season bowling figures (111o 21m, 382 r, 33 w, 7-55 v Haltwhistle), Tris Meears-White 387 runs & Bobby Green a maiden 103* v Newton, as the team achieved another a solid 8th place.  2019, deja vu, another 8th place, runs for Tris & David Harbottle, wickets for David Cragg. Sadly, COVID caused the postponement of involvement in 2020. 

At Greenside In 2021, under Patrick Hatcher,  a 6th place in Division 1 was highlighted by a 193 run victory over Matfen with Gavin Paton hitting an exuberant 70 & Owen Hollins taking 5-9 in 8 overs.

2022 saw an excellent 5th place, Jan Ozmen 443 runs & Patrick Hatcher named Division 1 All Rounder of the Year, 320 runs, 33 wickets, 13 catches & 2 run outs. Bolstered by Josephine Nkomo's economical bowling & example, everyone was especially pleased that as many as 9 juniors in one 11, were able to make their mark.

It has never been easy to select consistently with availability frequently thwarted by exams, school fixtures, & latterly COVID but, in partnership with the Captains, Stewart has managed to ensure that only 4 games have been conceded in 13 years.

Stewart's contribution is & has been pivotal to the continued existence of the 1864's & their achievements. A 'Club Person of the Year' in 2017  his 'Outstanding Contribution' was recognised at the Club Presentation Evening in 2021 with an iconic portrait of DCCC Riverside.

Patrick has taken up the baton, may we support him & the important role of the 1864's as we go forward, playing our home games at Belsay in 2023. Bravo Stewart !


< Back to News