19th Oct 2022

The 2022 cricket season at SNCC  was rounded off by two very well attended Presentation Evenings on Friday 7th & Saturday 8th October in the Function Room, the Indoor Centre refurbishment not quite complete but looking excellent.

The ambience was delightful, the smiles evident & a lovely warm feeling emanated as first Seniors on Friday & then Juniors on Saturday took the stage.

On Friday night Comperes David & Michael Harbottle introduced Chairman Howard Sidney-Wilmot who was proud to outline the achievements of a flourishing club both on & off the field. The largest ever membership base had been achieved & both Men's & Women's Ist X1's had become league Champions. The emphasis on Women & Girls cricket was enhanced by the presence of Josephine Nkomo,  the Zimbabwean Women's Captain, whose coaching, encouragement & performances were much admired.

The excellent programme, once again most professionally produced by Jen McDowell, highlighted team & individual achievements in all age groups, including more centuries (15), & 5 wicket hauls (14) than ever before; upcoming events - the Winter programme, the Business League, the Indoor League, the Rugby Dinner & the Pat Robson sponsored Fireworks Night & photographs of 4 winning teams & an intra club mixed junior event.

The Senior Awards were:

Academy: Champagne Moment - Jacob McCord.

                   Most Improved Player - Ben Hobbs.

                   Player of the Year- Sam Ewart.

Softball Women: Champagne Moment - Sarah Cope.

                                Most Improved Player - Lucy Lee.

                                Player of the Year - Clare Cartmell.

Women: Champagne Moment - Ellie Harris.

                 Most Improved Player - Olivia Miller.

                 Player of the Year Jen McDowell.

                 Medals for the team on becoming NWCL Premier Division Champions.

1864 X1: Champagne Moment - David Cragg.

                 Most Improved Player - George McConnell.

                 Player of the Year - Jan Ozmen.

2nd X1: Champagne Performance - Nathan Gough.

              Most Improved Player - Alexander Charnley.

              Player of the Year (Clive Goatman Salver)- Sadiq Khan.

Ist X1:  Player of the Year - (John Graham Cup) - Oliver McGee.

             Medals for the team on becoming NEPL Premier Division Champions & NEPL                 T20 winners.

Ist X1 Recognition of Achievement - Simon Birtwisle (first player to score 12000 NEPL league Runs)...kind words & a framed montage presented by Chris Hewison.

Junior contributing most to Senior Men's Cricket (Duncan Stephen Plate) - Alexander Charnley.

Club Person of the Year - Jen McDowell.

Howard congratulated Gordon Halliday (1976 to present) who had been awarded an OSCA (Outstanding Service to Cricket Award) by the Northumberland Cricket Board.

Outstanding Contribution for 50 years service to SNCC... kind words, a ceremonial cap each, presented by Howard, & a standing ovation for Clive Goatman (1972) & Duncan Stephen (1971).

As ever the food was a tribute to Bill's & Susan's skills. A lovely convivial evening which lasted some time. There was the opportunity to view & be impressed by the standard of the new lighting, floor, & netting in the North East Cricket Academy (NECA) Indoor Centre.

Saturday 8th October Junior Presentations- led by Ru Fletcher & Anya Meears-White.

The buzz after Newcastle's 5-1 home win continued as many parents & Juniors gathered to celebrate an excellent year. Very well prepared by Ru, Jen & Anya & delivered by Ru, Anya & newly appointed General Manager, John Ruddick, age groups U11 & U15 were followed by U13, Girls & U18/19, before the Overall Junior Player of the Year was announced.

Juniors had excelled in senior cricket: 2 centuries Aadesh Sahadevan & Jacob McCord, 10 half centuries, 4 for Sam Ewart, 3 for Alex Charnley, 2 for Jacob McCord & Guy Johnson & 11 x 3 wickets or more performances, four for Ben Hobbs & three for Will Alexander, including 6-48 for the 2's v Tynemouth & 6-6 by Will Young for the U18's, were highlighted.

Grateful thanks were given to parents, those who helped on match days, all the coaches & all the junior players Ru reflected 'whose energy & enthusiasm makes this such a brilliant club where the skill level & work ethic improves every year.' He was delighted to announce that Jen McDowell & Anya Meears-White are named as 'Northumberland Young Coaches of the Year'.

The emphasis on creating an environment that promotes & encourages positive club values & behaviours has become demonstrable both on & off the field & favourably commented on by other clubs & coaches, which is most heartening.

Feedback surveys are being returned & all ideas are welcome. The aim is continuous improvement. Anya is Cricket Development Officer with one of her targets to expand a school's programme in the local area.

The rationale for awards is to acknowledge 'outstanding achievements & inspired individual moments'. Attitude & behaviour is also taken into account. 350 members & only 47 awards. We must all be humble, keep working hard to become the best we can be.

The Junior Awards were:

U11: (1) Champagne Moment - Ethan Cockburn.

                Most Improved - Felix McDermott.

                Player of the Year - Oliver Alexander.

U11 (2)   Champagne Moment - Toby McCallum.

                Most Improved - Daylan Deen-Williams.

                Player of the Year- Matthew Smith.

U11 (3)   Champagne Moment- Harriet McConnell.

                 Most Improved - Cameron Cope.

                 Player of the Year - Rayyan Mohammed.

U11 (4)    Champagne Moment - Thomas Young.

                 Most Improved - Hayden Riley.

                 Player of the Year - Will Asherson.

U11 (5)    Champagne Moment - Matthew Scott.

                 Most Improved - Ol​iver Newman.

                 Player of the Year - Ben Lee.

Thank you to : Juhu Joseph, Sameer Jadhav, Simon Birtwisle, Chris Young.

Mentioned in despatches: Toby, Elliot & Thomas.

U15 (1)    Champagne Moment - Aadesh Sahadevan.

                  Most Improved - George Gray.

                  Player of the Year - Charlie Wilson.

U15 (2)     Champagne Moment - Rafi Mohammed.

                  Most Improved - Albie McPate.

                  Player of the Year - Aditya Bethanabatla.

U13 (1)     Champagne Moment - Archit Upadhye.

                   Most Improved - Rory Cartmell.

                   Player of the Year - Will Carr.

U13 (2)      Champagne Moment - Alex Smith.

                   Most Improved - Leo Blackett.

                   Player of the Year - Varun Gudipati

U13 (3)      Champagne Moment - Jaques Graham.

                    Most Improved - Ethan Hourigan.

                    Player of the Year - Will Hall.

                    'Spirit of Cricket' - Joseph Dresser.

Thank you to : Tim Johnson, Tom Lee, Glen Hall.

Girls (1)    Champagne Moment - Harriet Joll.

                    Most improved - Amelia Porter.

                    Player of the Year - Emily White.

Girls (2)     Champagne Moment - Nishka Bharti.

                    Most Improved - Amelia Roberts.

                    Player of the Year - Anya Joseph.

Girls (3)      Champagne Moment - Anna & Emily Fitzpatrick.

                    Most Improved - Aoife McDermott.

                    Player of the Year - Zara Cartmell.

Mentioned in despatches - Isabel Helsby.

Thank you to Josephine Nkomo.

U18/19       Champagne Moment - Will Young.

                     Most Improved - Woody Wilson.

                     Player of the Year - Ben Hobbs.

Overall Junior Player of the Year: (Chairman's Cup) Varun Gudipati.

Lovely food prepared again by Bill, Sarah. Jackie & the team, lots of smiling people chatting for some time. On such nights, proud to be a Bull! We must continue!


< Back to News