28th Sep 2021

The evening of Friday 24th September saw over 150 boys, girls & families gather in the Indoor Centre to celebrate the 2021 season, a first, whole Club event of its type.  MC's David & Michael Harbottle introduced new Chairman, Howard Sidney-Wilmot at 1810.


Howard offered sincere thanks to all our staff, volunteers & sponsors; recognised the important contribution of outgoing Chairman Alan Fletcher; expressed delight at the number present; highlighted that SNCC had more members than at least one first class county, among that number were over 350 junior boys & over 100 women & girls; reported that over 200 matches had been played involving 17 teams, 44 players had played representative cricket; promised, from a firm financial base, that within 12 months, the floor, nets & lights in the Centre would be renewed; that Women's cricket would be a focus; praised the programme produced by Duncan Stephen, Jenny McDowell & all those involved in the organisation of the evening, encouraging anyone who might feel able to offer help or to volunteer, to contact him/Michael Richardson directly.


Tim Johnson & Lucy Hobbs reviewed the performances of the teams & several individuals during the U11 season before offering Champagne Moment awards to Rayyan Mohammed, Thomas Hunter & Matthew Smith: Most Improved Player awards to Aditya Jadhav, Oliver Alexander & Sam Lee & Player of the Year awards to Aarav Sharma, Leo Harper & Toby Jobling, all presented by Adam Cragg, 1st X1 Captain.


The U13 season was reviewed by Ru Fletcher, the contributions of many were highlighted, before awards for Champagne Moments were given to Alek Johnson & Will Young; Most Improved Player awards to Albie McPate, William Hall & George Mc Connell & Players of the Year awards to Oliver Clark, Will Alexander & Aadesh Sahadevan, again presented by Adam.


The Academy season was reviewed by Ru Fletcher & awards for Champagne Moment were made to Ross Ward, Most Improved Player to Alexander Critchley & Player of the Year to Eashan Ragbir, presented by Jonny Wightman 1st X1 opening bowler, (438 Premier Division wickets).


Ian Steward reviewed the Girls season & awards for Champagne Moment went to Emily White, Most Improved Player to Alice Warneford & Player of the Year to Grace Steward, again presented by Jonny.


Richard Miller reviewed the U15 girls journey to the National Lady Taverner finals at Neston on the Wirral, defeated in the semi final on this occasion but a sterling effort nonetheless.


The 1864 season was reviewed by Captain, Patrick Hatcher. A 6th place finish, the second best achieved on the back of 4 consecutive victories & a final day defeat of champions Stamfordham. The Champagne Moment award went to Neil Johnson for an outstanding catch at Belsay & the Most Improved Player to Will Alexander. Retiring Team Manager, Stewart Davidson then explained why top run scorer & wicket taker Patrick Hatcher should be Player of the Year, presented by Jonny.


David Harbottle then paid tribute to Stewart's Outstanding Contribution to the 1864's over 12 years as Team Manager, scorer & tea maker, explaining that seeing young players develop was his greatest satisfaction. Amid universal acclaim, Howard presented him with a DCCC cricket print on behalf of the Club.


After a rather longer break for food than was intended, Ryan Sidney-Wilmot outlined a 2nd X1 season of mixed fortunes. The Most Improved Player award went to Will Varley & the Clive Goatman Salver for Player of the Year to Ru Fletcher for his 506 league runs.


Michael Harbottle then paid tribute to Richard Brook on his retirement through injury after sterling service to the Club since 2002. 1st X1, (2002-11), 311 Premier Division wickets, best 7-28 v Benwell Hill 2003; 2nd X1 (2012-2021), 261 Division 2 wickets, best 8-28 v Blaydon 2014, & 'the ball that won the cup' in the 2006 Cockspur Cup final at Lord's in 2006, bowling Nadeem Shahid. Division 2 Player of the Year in 2019 (49 wickets), a nice bottle of red for Brooky.


In Jenny Mc Dowell's absence (acting as Media coordinator for Northern Diamonds at the Rachel Heyhoe Flint Trophy final in Northampton), Lucy Hobbs reviewed the Women's season & concluded by announcing the Champagne Moment Softball award to Clare Cartmell, Most Improved Player to Freya Rook & Player of the Year to Anya Meears-White. A new award for the Junior contributing most to Senior Women's cricket went to Isobel Helsby, all of which Howard presented.


Ru Fletcher reviewed a successful U15 season offering awards for Champagne Moments to Rafi Mohammed & Alexander Charnley, Most Improved Players to James Moody & George Gray & Players of the Year to Ben Hobbs & Angus Southern, all presented by Chris Hewison (over 8000 Premier Division runs at an average c 40 & 124 catches.)


The U19  season was reviewed by Ru Fletcher. Champagne Moment went to Nathan Gough, Most Improved to Alan Roskilly & Player of the Year to Sam Ewart, again presented by Chris.


The Chairman's Cup for the overall Junior Player of the Year went to Oliver Clark. The Duncan Stephen Plate for the Junior contributing most to Senior Men's cricket went to Sam Ewart.


Michael Richardson explained that the midweek Roseworth Bulls X1 exists as a friendly t20 type, exercise for both old & young & presented the Champagne Moment award to Steve Harper for a 50. 


Adam Cragg reviewed what turned out to be an outstanding 1stX1 season. NEPL Premier Division Champions for the 13th time after a pulsating, last game victory over leaders at the start of play, Burnmoor, NEPL T20 winners, ECB National Club Championship semi-finalists & National T20 Area finalists.


36 games, 18 league, 18 cup, a tiring & demanding year especially when 3 games in a weekend meaning the support of families was crucial. John Tindale's (coach) & John Ruddick's (scorer) efforts were highlighted. Amid outstanding contributions from many, the John Graham Cup for Player of the Year went to Sol Bell for his 779 league runs, including 3 consecutive centuries, the first time this has been done for 20 years. 


Medals were presented by Howard & team photographs for all were collected. 


Chris Hewison then reflected on Lee Crozier's bowling record in taking his 630th SNCC league wicket in his 17th season, on 1st May 2021 v Eppleton(h), surpassing that of John Bradford (629 in 20 seasons 1962-1982) by one. 5 wickets now on 36 occasions, best season 2007, 47 wickets, top of NEPL bowling averages in 2005, 2007 & 2017, 4th in 2021 in his 48th year. A quite magnificent record which Chris hoped would continue, before presenting him with a framed montage of photographs taken on the day of the record.


Michael Richardson introduced the final award. A recognition of someone who has gone that extra mile for SNCC, loves cricket, is happy to play for any team. The winner in 2021 has played for, & contributed to, every senior team in both league & cup. 1st X1 cup average of 51, joint 2nd X1 second top league run scorer, 612 runs in total, 25 wickets, runs & wickets for the 1864's & Academy, to universal acclaim the Club Person of the Year award was given to Sadiq Khan.


David & Michael thanked everyone for attending, Phil Ewart for his photography, the output will be accessible to all shortly, & wished them a safe journey home. The night had been a success & went on... a bit.


The programme contained reference to future Events:

30/9          Sporting Dinner.

04/10        NECA Indoor Winter Coaching begins.

04/10        Indoor Business League begins.

17/10        Indoor Mini Bulls begins.

06/11        Fireworks Night.

tbc             Club Quiz Night everyone welcome


We hope to see you soon.



< Back to News