NEPL Groundsman of the Year : Craig Thompson and Liam Dodgson

25th Nov 2022

We are delighted to report that at the Annual NEPL Dinner & Presentation of Awards night on Friday 18th November 2022 Craig Thompson & Liam Dodgson were named as NEPL 'Groundsman of the Year'.

This was a timely follow up to similar awards in 2012, 2013 & 2018 NEPL Groundsman of the Year, NCB Ground Staff Association NEPL winner 2015 SNCC & Inst of Groundsmanship 2018 SNCC Highly Commended.

So most pleasing, continuing recognition & a magnificent achievement for Craig & Liam in a season that saw SNCC hosting Durham v Surrey in the Royal London One Day Cup, Northumberland v Cumbria & Cheshire in the T20 Group 1 & the NCCC showcase match when Yorkshire were the visitors & lost only the last league match to the weather, when Roseworth Terrace was the only ground to complete a first innings.

We were also delighted that Sam Ewart was on the shortlist for Academy Player of the Year & that Ru Fletcher was on the shortlist for Division 2 Player of the Year.

Adam Cragg collected the NEPL Premier Division Champions Cup & T20 trophy, a repeat of 2021 & a tribute to the hard work & search for excellence of a talented 1st X1 squad.

With the Women's 1st X1 Champions of the Northumberland Womens Cricket League Division 1, the 2nd X1 finishing as runners up in NEPL Division 2, the Academy retaining Sunday Division 1 status,  the 1864's 5th place in West Tyne League Division 1 & the newly refurbished North East Cricket Academy unveiled, a memorable year.

May we all winter well !


< Back to News