Bulls retain James Bell Memorial Trophy with outstanding win at Benwell Hill

5th May 2018

SNCC 166-6 (20 overs) Matthew Whitty 78*, Andrew Doig 21, Ben Sidney-Wilmot 15, Ru Fletcher 14.

Benwell Hill 128-8 (20 overs) John Chambers 57, Will Archbold 22: Michael Harbottle 3-30, Allan Davidson 2-30, Calum Fletcher 2-36, Matthew Whitty 0-30.

Score Card: https://sncc.play-cricket.com/website/results/3665316

A sunny Friday evening saw the postponed 2017 James Bell final played at Denton Bank. SNCC won the toss & batted in perfect conditions. 84-4, Andrew Doig (21), Ru Fletcher (14) at the end of the 14th over was par with slow bowlers Peter Jones (4-30) & Will Archbold (1-23) bowling nicely  but a sustained assault by Matthew Whitty (78 in 45 balls 6x4 5x6) saw 82 runs come from the last 6 overs. Ben Sidney-Wilmot(15) supported admirably in a 5th wicket stand of 60.


John Chambers (57) in an opening stand of 59 with John Anderson gave the Hill hope & at 14 overs the scores were almost identical, 87-2, with Archbold contributing a hard hitting 22. Three wickets for Michael Harbottle's off breaks & some outstanding catching, ( two for Cam Skinner at long on, one for Andrew Doig at deep mid wicket but Allan Davidson's one handed dismissal of Mark Wright, a diving effort at short fine leg the pick,) & ground fielding kept the pressure on & saw wickets fall in every over thereafter as the Hill subsided to 128-8 at the close.


A 38 run win for the Bulls who retain the trophy. Matt Whitty was named man of the match for his 78 , 0-30 in 5 overs of slow left arm & the opening catch, a consecutive award having won the same accolade in the 2016 win over the same opponents!


Author: Duncan Stephen

< Back to News