15th Aug 2021

The 23rd John Bradford Memorial Match, most kindly sponsored again by Roddy Golightly, was held at Roseworth Terrace on Wed 11th August. In a 50 over a side format, the Northumberland X1 came out on top by 13 runs after rain reduced the South North reply to 195 from 41 overs.


Northumberland X1 238-8 (50o) Rob Peyton 79, Eashan Ragbir 48, Matty Hall 31, Phil Hall 18*: Ross Ward 4-19, James Hutton 2-23, Alan Roskilly 1-53, Jon Gill 0-36, Andrew Doig 1-34, Oli McGee 0-37, Will Alexander 0-26.


South North X1 182-9 (41o) Tris Meears-White 18, Michael Harbottle 39, James Hutton 45, Ross Ward 36: Cam Skinner 2-28, Gavin Paton 1-34, Eashan Ragbir 1-20, Phil Hall 2-23, Aadesh Sahadevan 1-36, Rob Peyton 1-33.


Northumberland win by 13 runs.


In the perfect setting that SN is, a tribute to groundsman Craig Thompson assisted by Liam Dodgson, Ben Jones-Lee took the gloves for 10 overs in a final, cameo appearance. Rob Peyton & Eashan Ragbir opened for Northumberland facing the medium pace of Alan Roskilly (Grove) & Jon Gill (Park). Runs came swiftly on both sides of the wicket, Roskilly, Gill, Doig & McGee all toiled & at the drinks break after 20 overs, the opening partnership had reached 119-0.


Immediately afterwards Rob skied to mid wicket for 79 (14x4, 2x6, 76m, 78b). U13 Will Alexander had begun a good spell from the Park end & was unfortunate to see a catch dropped at point. 


Ross Ward's controlled off breaks to a consistent length bemused, such that his analysis 10-2-19-4 was entirely justified. Eashan (48) holed out to mid wicket, Kush Agarwal (3) edged behind & after one glorious 6, Paul Dutton (10) was well held low at cover by Andrew Doig, 155-4 after 31 overs.


James Hutton, rhythm returning after a two year break, bowled Arif (18) & in his next over Ben Sid edged behind, Parth taking a neat catch. Adesh Sahadevan (5) was wonderfully caught by Jabba's sharp reaction, low to his left, at first slip.


 Phil Hall (18*) joined his namesake, Matty(31), & they put on 41 for the 8th wicket as both Oli & Alan suffered. Alan's persistence was finally rewarded thanks to a sharp stumping by Parth. After Gavin struck a 6 in the penultimate over, the innings closed at 238-8.


A lovely lunch was consumed courtesy of Bill. The BBQ order was placed but rain delayed the restart until 1435. Cam Skinner & Gavin Paton opened up & took a wicket each as Parth (6) edged behind to Ben & Andy (8) driving, was held at second slip off Cam by Matty, 23-2.


Enter the Pro who, in company with Tris Meears-White, took the score to 65, including 3 driven 4's in one over from Eashan's off breaks, before Tris, swinging off his feet, was stumped by Ben off Phil Hall's canny, gently swinging, medium pace for 18. Ben's batting cameo sadly lasted only 5 balls.


At 85, Aadesh Sahadevan (U13), bowling medium pace from the Grove end, got one through Michael Harbottle's (39) defences. Rob Peyton fielded superbly to prevent a long on boundary & in his first over persuaded Oli (6) to play on ! 100-6 after 28.


James Hutton & Ross Ward showed great enterprise to take the score to 164 in the 37th before Ross, never a dull moment, (36, 3x4, 1x6, 30b) skied to mid off to be caught by Paul Dutton. Jabba (45, 4x4, 52b) continued to run well with Alan but in the penultimate over of Eashan's off spin, he was sent back & run out;  two balls later Alan (4) was bowled.


A bridge too far for the last wicket pair Jon Gill (5*), including a sumptuous cover drive, & Will Alexander (2*). The innings closed at 182-9.


Roddy presented the 'Brad Man' Salver to winning Captain, Matty Hall, & the Man of the Match prosecco to Rob Peyton. Sincere thanks were given to umpires Phil Raine & Peter Young, to Craig, to Bill, to all the players for being available, especially those who had travelled, like Jonny Gill from Stratford, & above all to Roddy for his continuing, generous sponsorship of this iconic fixture.


We hope to reconvene for JB 24 on Wed 3rd or Wed 10th August 2022. The autograph book bears witness to the pleasure this game creates amongst those of yesteryear like Peter Crane, Clive Page, Bill Peacock, Phil Hall, Howard Sidney-Wilmot & those of fewer years. 6 generations of players were represented, Brad would have approved.


Dave Swan, Phil Tait, Eric Hall, John Graham, Mike Elliott, James Miller, Paul Scott. Jonny Boyes, Ken Waller, David & Gill Venn, Nick Gandy, Danny Clark, Patrick Hatcher, Allan Davidson, Richard Clifford & Elaine Bradford all sent their apologies.


A true, SNCC club day, long may it continue.