2018 Season Round Up

26th Feb 2019

A record 16th win confirmed a Club record points total of 471 and an undefeated, 12th NEPL Premier Division title for the 1st X1, who were also NEPL T20 and Tyneside Charity Bowl winners. Eventual winners Richmondshire and Hanging Heaton thwarted national ambitions.

Runs for Simon Birtwisle (613), Sean Tindale (479), John Graham (570) and captain Adam Cragg (657) were supported by Liam Trevaskis (323) and many crucial partnerships for lower order wickets. Jonny Wightman (43w), Lee Crozier (42w), Sean Tindale (38w) and Michael Craigs (28w) were complemented by Liam Trevaskis (12) and Richard Stanyon(12). Five opponents were bowled out for under 100 in the period 28 July to 27 August. Fielding intensity, led by Adam Cragg's outstanding example and Rob Peyton's 26 catches and 6 stumpings, was exemplary. Lee reached 1000 1st X1 league wickets, a magnificent milestone! Simon (10,709) and John (10,641) became the highest run scorers in Premier Division history.

Losing 3 of the first 6 league matches the 2nd X1 went undefeated thereafter to become Second Division runners up to Tynemouth. An exciting 2017 James Bell win at Denton Bank and T20 success when defeating Tynemouth and Sacriston were highlights. There were runs for Andrew Doig (319) and Alex Weetman (311) and wickets for Richard Brook (28) and James Ruddick (21). Michael Harbottle stood down as Captain and his outstanding contributions over 7 successful years were recognised by the Club.

The Academy, led by Ru Fletcher and featuring 28 juniors, were champions of Sunday Division 1 and Banks Cup winners, the first 3rd X1 league & cup double in the NEPL. There were runs for Ru (339), Cam Skinner (265), Bobby Green (205) and Ben Sidney-Wilmot (192) and wickets for Ru (15), Sree Kanakala (11), Cam (10) and Calum Fletcher(9). A one wicket win at Tynemouth and the Banks Cup final win at Newcastle were memorable.

In West Tyne League Division 1, hopes of a strong season were severely affected by availability and an eighth place finish, winning 9, losing 8 and conceding 2, was disappointing. The highlight was a defeat of unbeaten Allendale away by 80 runs. There were runs for Tristan Meears-White (328), Will Varley (234), captain David Harbottle (225) and Bobby Green (205) and wickets for David Cragg (33). The 1864s were, once again, truly indebted to team manager and master chef, Stewart Davidson. As Roseworth Bulls, the Club entered the NEMWCL Division 4 for the first time and were promoted as runners up.  Undefeated with 4 to play, an untimely defeat and abandonments told.

The Women's team in NWL Division 1 were affected by unavailability and although showing stronger performances, won only once, courtesy of County captain Rachael Gillott's 118* at Gateshead Fell. Jenny McDowell's finger injury curtailed her Durham Jets season, but it was pleasing to recognise 'Player of the Year' Ellie Harris and the improving wicketkeeping of Cara Fletcher.

Steve Chapman's arrival as Director of Coaching proved very beneficial and all 10 junior teams had success. We were indebted to Craig Thompson and Liam Dodgson for their excellent work on the ground that was much appreciated by Durham and Worcestershire (RLODC) in May, England & South Africa U19s in July and NCCC and Staffordshire in September. The catering of Bill and Susan Kidd and Janice Ramsay was outstanding. In early October 2018 we said goodbye to CEO Marcus North as he joined Durham CCC as Director of Cricket. We wish him well for the future.

We look forward to welcoming visiting teams, officials and supporters to Roseworth Terrace in 2019, when a 4 day DCCC championship game and a One Day Cup tie are to be confirmed. We hope to see you there.

< Back to News